Rigatoni Alla Vodka

Labels:

 
And of course, my long winded notes:

Couldn't find the prosciutto, so I made it without it.

I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of cutting out the green peas altogether. For the crushed tomatoes I used diced tomatoes in italian herb and seasoning. I added a teaspoon of Adobo..yes I do add it to everything..just wait until I test to see if I can make a tea out of it.



I also upped the vodka a tad bit because, well...me and mine like our vodka! I ended up using two shots of vodka.

Where it says to reserve some of the liquid from draining the red peppers...I recommend saving all the liquid! Why waste such an awesome explosion to your palate?

It doesn't say in the directions, but once you cut back to simmer...keep it covered! If not, it'll thicken too fast and not have a chance to infuse the last bit of vodka to the peppers and tomotoes. Oh, and definitely stir often while you are bringing it up to a boil..nothing worse than burnt heavy cream to spoil a dish. A side note...make sure to mix everything into the saucepan first, before sitting it on the stove. This is definitely one recipe you want to make starting out with a cold saucepan.

Since the rigatoni box said it took 10-12 minutes to cook for slightly firm pasta, I sit my water on for it at mid-high heat while I was bringing the mixture up to its boil. This allowed me to turn it to high heat 20 minutes into the simmer phase and instantly be able to add the rigatoni without having to wait for the water to get hot enough. Thus, my rigatoni came off the eye at the same time the sauce did. As soon as you remove the sauce, add the parmesan cheese. This lets it melt quickly and causes the sauce to thicken slightly.

Drain the rigatoni well. I mean like..no water. Dump the rigatoni and sauce into a big enough bowl to toss them together. Let sit for a few minutes. Serve with option to top with shredded cheese or crushed/powdered parmesan.


Comment (1)

i had to comment on the adobo jajaj of course!
it takes a lot for me to crave pasta but that foto did it for me.
damn. the foto, the pasta, the adobo. the vodka? why am i not surprised. i should be shocked. shocked. ;p

Post a Comment